Day 10

“The world as we have created it is a process of our thinking. It cannot be changed without changing our thinking.” -Albert Einstein

I have been doing a lot of self reflection during my time laid off and cleansing. At the start of my cleanse, a lot of my thoughts revolved around mistakes I would make in the future. “If I am going to mess up in the future, why is it important to try now?”

It can be hard to stick to a resolution when the thoughts in your head constantly revolve around how you aren’t good enough or strong enough to succeed. I have been working on really focusing on the present moment, and knowing that I am succeeding now. I can only control what’s happening in this exact moment, and that’s powerful.

Sweets and dessert have always been my go-to comfort foods that I crave. At the beginning of the cleanse, I felt overwhelmed knowing this about myself and believing in the future I would cave in to pressure.

My biggest victory this week has been to create alternatives to the typically high fat and high sugar comfort foods that I (used) to love. For dessert I made carrot cake with a cashew cream frosting and vegan ‘snickers’ with a date and hazelnut filling. For an ultra satisfying meal replacement full of healthy fats- a smoothie with sunbutter, nuts, cacao, kale, dark red cherries, and cashew milk. My coffee replacement has been cashew milk with cacao and stevia.

All of these alternatives give me immense satisfaction without that crack-addict like feeling of “give me moooooore”. I can have just a few bites and feel satiated. I don’t feel overcome with guilt and anxiety that I accidentally ate 6 cookies instead of the 1 that I promised to myself. I am able to plan ahead for my cravings and have a substitute available.

The best thing that I’ve learned is that we all crave comfort in food for varying reasons, and that’s okay. It doesn’t make you a bad person to crave something sweet, salty, or fatty. The trick is to recognize your triggers and find something that comforts you in a healthy, satisfying way and contributes to your overall well being.

Leave a Reply

